Waller High Schools Students Earn National Academic Honors

WHS Students Earn National Academic Honors

by Waller ISD Communications

Fifteen Waller High School (WHS) students earned national academic honors from the College Board National Recognition Program. These honors help students stand out in the college admissions process and connect with scholarship opportunities through College Board’s Student Search Service.

“I learned I was chosen when I got an email and I heard my name in the morning announcements. I was not expecting that,” Grace Isaacks said. “When I got the invitation to apply, I thought this would really help me when I’m filling out my college applications.”

The College Board’s National Recognition Programs include the National African American Recognition Award (NAARA), National Hispanic Recognition Award (NHRA), National Rural and Small Town Award (NRSTA), and National Indigenous Award (NIA). Students who may be eligible for honors must have a GPA of 3.5 or higher and have scored in the top 10% on the PSAT/NMSQT or PSAT 10, or earned a 3 or higher on two or more AP Exams; and are African American or Black, Hispanic American or Latinx, Indigenous, and/or attend school in a rural area or small town. These factors alone do not guarantee students an award, they must also go through an application process to be awarded honors.

“I want these students to know how huge of an honor this is and the advantage this will provide them in the future,” WHS Principal Stephanie Fletcher said. “They were chosen because they are some of the top scoring students in the nation. They should be very proud and we are very proud of them.”

Congratulations to the following WHS students on receiving one or more national academic honors:

  • Celestine Duncan: NAARA, NHRA, NRSTA

  • Christian Turrubiartes: NHRA, NRSTA

  • Delivrance Parady Dekem Awounbeng: NAARA

  • Grace Isaacks: NRSTA

  • Gregory Christensen: NHRA

  • Henry Luong: NRSTA

  • Humberto Jaquez: NHRA, NRSTA

  • Hyrum Brown: NRSTA

  • Jadde Aponte: NHRA

  • Kori Paliwoda: NRSTA, NIA

  • Luis Leo-lim: NHRA

  • Madilyn Alaniz: NHRA

  • Makenna Tryon: NAARA

  • Rachelle Escobar: NHRA, NRSTA

  • Stephanie Esquivel: NHRA, NRSTA


Recent Posts